the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

2004-04-08..5:17 p.m.

Things I saw on the way to work this morning:

~A veritable kaleidoscope of root vegetables.

~A plastic baggie of various animal leg parts outside one of several kebab shops (I suppose the meateating world can rest easy knowing it�s actual animal leg part, and not cobbled together *meat*)

~KITTY!

~Assorted fish flung into their iced tray as though scooped up from their school as they were. With eyes and tails and everything still attached watching.

~TISHA IS RIGHT! No, she�s just buff. Best graffiti I�ve seen in a long time turns out to be not quite so. I need to get my prescription checked.

Things I�ve discovered today at large:

~There�s something about hearing someone sigh and splutter into the toilet next to yours, knowing they�re one of your colleague, that makes you desperately wish you had just held it in.

~I realised when I was changing into my work clothes (can�t be seen in them in the outside, caj independent culture kewl won�t cut it on the in) that I�ve got the same underwear combo as Liv Tyler in Empire Records when she tries to seduce Rex Manning.

Things that have both made my week a little more surreal, and a little more fantastic:

~Sarah, one of my oldest friends had a baby on the 25th of March. A little girl, Susanna Marie. This news came as a complete surprise for I had no idea she was pregnant, much less living in Louisville Kentucky. Sarah�s very Baptist, I was one of two non-Church friends at her wedding last December (2002, Baptist people, remember?), so it shouldn�t be all that shocking. I think it�s more the fact that she is the first of the kids I went to high school with to actually sprog up. Fuck. She�s just brought a real life human into this world, who she�s going to be responsible for, for the next 18 years. This new little person is one half my friend Sarah. A girl who rescued me from the horrors of grade seven in the sanctuary of her similarly bookish ways. The idea that anyone I know my age might be responsible enough to invite an 18 year commitment like that scares and awes me.

~My mum and dad arrived yesterday for a three week and ten day, respectively, visit. I�ve not seen them since last June, and so this visit, particularly because they�re here for my birthday, is without exception the nicest thing that�s happened to me this week. Nothing spells goodtimes like toothpaste and old hard-won ski sweaters (mum threatened to chuck, it is now back in my possession. Victory is Mine!) They�ll be going up to Huddersfield this weekend to visit my Grandad, and I will remain here. Not entirely please that I am, but I�ve prior commitments that were priorly committed to and thus have to give it a miss. To be honest, however, I�m not sure I could handle it. I�ve not been there since my Grandmother died.

~Finished Day of the Triffids. What a fucking great book. Am on a that-sort-of-time-period kick at the moment and loving every word. Graham Greene, John Wyndham, George Orwell. My heros.

Things that will make this weekend RAWK THE HOUSE:

~drinks with the girls tonight, go team! Go Cuban foodstuffs! Go half-price cocktails! Go short week!

~spending an entire day reading/writing/trying on clothes my parents brought over/getting taken out for lunch and not having to pay tomorrow

~lunching with the MC, possibly seeing an exhibit, and then reviewing Radio Department at the Betsy on Saturday, whilst donning the Micro Everything and the Suspender and Garter-belt ensemble, the very thought of which has been driving me shivery all week.

~POW! to the People Sunday!!! The Loves! The Project! Herman Dune! Hanging out with R.! Getting Wankered! (those last two are things I�ll be doing rather than bands I�ll be seeing. You never can tell with bands these days.)

~interviewing Steve from a Band on Monday, VERY EXCITED about this. We�re going to this little pub called (by me) the Foreskin in my area (heehee. It never gets old) for drinks and chats. Jesus I�m cool.

Things that will get this party started:

~leaving.

~right now.

Happy easter bunnies!

****meep

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06