the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

16.12.05..11:04 am

I couldn't sleep last night and sometime after 2am I went outside and made a snowman. Just a little one. With a snow nose and two snow eyes. I didn't have any coal and all the bark on hand was still attached to the tree.

I had shovelled earlier because Toronto got knocked up by a snow storm yesterday evening (that's right, Toronto got IMPREGNATED by a snowstorm which means lots of little snowstorms to come. It will be a multiple birth); but the snow was still white, unpolluted. It still is really. I look out the window and the whole outside has suddenly a dressing. I first went for a midnight stroll.

I had a cigarette and wandered the silent streets. I was out for about half an hour and three cars passed - they came all at once like they were being herded down Davisville Avenue by an unknown Toyoto-Dog. But it was so quiet. And bright. I decided I'd make a snowman on the front lawn to guard the house in case any more Toyota-Dogs ventured into the area. You really don't want those things on the lawn, they shred the place up and get tire treads all over the place.

I've not been able to fall asleep until 3am for the past three nights. I doubt it's all the coffee I'm having - the way my parents make it, it would send a baby to sleep. It's the not having Matthew around to warm my freezing bum in the night. I miss Matthew. He'll be here on Tuesday. It's going very slowly. The only good thing about it is that I send my waking hours knitting.

I've a scarf for me and a bag for the SisterCreature on the go. The scarf is gorgeous and bright and blindingly full of colours that don't match. The bag is a tasteful red and white. I've knit the bottom gusset red in moss stitch for strength, the trunk is plain knit, plain white. I've cast off the front edge in red because I'm creating a large flap with a pocket to secure it which will be edged in red as well; I want to line it with an old scarf, but we've not got a sewing machine and my hand-sewing skillz aren't skillz, rather classify as needle-stabbing ineptitude.

In any case the thing is HUGE. Fucking enormous. But that's good because I'll be trying a hand a felting and I understand things shrink quite a bit in the process. Actually, even if it stays big, the SisterCreature will like it. She likes big things.

I need to go and buy boots. I've been searching for days and so far all I've done is manage to destroy the boots I've got in my efforts.



****emmms

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06