the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

23.08.05..5:36 pm

Not much news, it's been mostly getting new glasses (purple plastic, I feel like a cross between Janine in Ghostbusters and when Marilyn Monroe played a librarian)(It's also kind of instant chic � given the librarian thing is really big over here at the moment - I don't have to make the effort dressing in the mornings now as people see the glasses and I�m immediately hip), and working on the thesis.

For the past few weeks I�ve literally been living, breathing and shitting Bond. if it weren't for my dearheart M, I�d feel like we were going out and I was nearing the point where I would have to call it off because it's just too intense and he's not letting me hang out with my friends. That and if he weren't a fucking fictitious character.

I got off to a really good start today and then ran into my friend Leah around 2 and it all went to pieces. I�m going to go to the caf� near M I think and read for a while to try to (re)gain a little perspective..You know that lately I�ve actually been avoiding people and making eye contact because otherwise they talk to me? I don't think it's healthy, but people just demand things like conversation, or at least responses, or change, or library books. Want want want.

That�s about it except I�m interning (so to speak, work experiencing more like) at a publishing house, which is interesting. They threw me a manuscript my first five minutes there to go over and decide whether it was worth publishing. It wasn�t, but it was nice to have the chance at a veto. The last thing we need is more of the brand of infantily prosed, meagrely suspenseful arsefuckery getting floated about. (I�m writing a thesis, thus am automatically granted full rights to making up words and/or manipulating grammar to suit my needs. It�s all there in the Terms and Conditions of Thesiswriting.)

It also looks like M going to move into My Tiny Apartment. Which�ll be cool because it means I don't have to the Enormous Sty he calls home. (I swear, I vacuumed on Friday and it just looks like I took the vacuum bag and emptied it all over the living room floor. They are monstrous pigs. I mean I�ve gone over how we lived in fourth year � it was a four story pit. I can pull up with mountain ranges of dust balls up the staircase, I can put up with vacuuming once every three months, and only ever mopping the kitchen when things that smell get spilled and a near ending trail of scum in the toilet. This place is just filthy. There were nine people living in that run down mansion-shack of the student ghetto, here there are four. Five if you include me. And two of us actually make some attempt at cleaning.) It�ll only be for a few months and then it looks like we�ll be finding our own place back in South London. I�m not infinitely thrilled with the prospect, but my gag reflex hasn�t caught me out on this one yet, so perhaps I don�t actually mind so much.

Right. I�ve got a double date with Lacan and bond. Wish me luck.

PS, Barcelona was beautiful. The whole trip was great: we missed the first bus to the airport because M was working so ended up going later which turned out to be fine actually. We just spent the whole time walking and eating and drinking and walking. and speaking Spanish. I was thrilled on that point, conversations nearly happened! I made a point of attempting Spanish everywhere and was mostly successful. As M noted, I lost my fear of looking like an idiot pretty early on. Mind you, learning to ask for beer instead of accidentally asking for a parrot didn't take too long.

It came in really handy when my camera broke on the last day and I just about died. It's a 1979 Yashika, the part that's broken (from what I could make out from the very spanish camera shop dude I startled by quietly collasping at the word 'broken'; and then again by my Dad) stopped being manufactured about four years ago so I mightn't be able to get it fixed, so that sucks. But outside that it was fantastic. And most of the film developed really nicely and I'm procuring a scanner so there will be PICTURES! ON MY WEBSITE! I'm completely freaked out by how cool this all is!



****emmmms is on to the digital age

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06