the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

2004-10-07..4:32 p.m.


Flatmate Adam asked me last night if my room was all sad and empty and I didn't really know how to answer. It was empty(ing) certainly. But there's nothing sad about it. Outside leaving my aunt's place (lived there for four months NEVER AGAIN!), I�ve never been more ready to move. I was completely packed by about half7, all went fine with the filling of boxes and suitcases, the last minute bed stripping this morning and blackbagging of linen�s and duvet and miscellaneous pieces of me being removed from my soon-to-be-someone-else's room. Went quite according to plan actually, though I�m quite worried I�ll have left something terribly important and mortifying behind.* I spent the rest of the night doing very little. Tidying a bit. Trying to fumigate the room a little for that lingering aroma of roasting nicotine weed. Debating when I should move things down. Reading. It was a nice little tribute to my final hours as official tenant of number 17.

*Like an empty sweet-bag of carefully still-wrapped emergency condoms. In the fire grate. Thank fuck for M being sound of mind enough to do an idiot check before he left this morning.

I just ate some apple and cheese slices a little too fast. (Actually I should be eating the cheese at all. I think I might be PMSing because last night I decided that a whole litre of chocolate milk was exactly what I needed. Today my stomach has been stoutly refuting that claim.)

I�ve decided The Way By Swann�s is one of the most beautifully prosaic novels I�ve ever had the pleasure of reading. It�s like the Dead Sea, allowing your mind to float and buoy aimlessly on the smallest of threads and veins of plot that lie stretch endlessly in front of you. A hazy sunrise of clarity. I don�t suppose that makes sense, nor much like a recommendation, but it is. Proust manages to capture things so succinctly that he achieves an almost effortless invasion of a willing conscious.

Busy but slow today. I feel like a slug. A brainheavy slug. Bellyheavy too, massive lunch. All my missives here are about food or books, aren't they. Hmmm..

Well this is something new. I�ve decided to have a pokey poke stab at HTML. Technology, bewildering chimera that it is, will have to bow to the pressure of my steadfast determination and nerves of the strongest unbendable steel. Steadfast. It is. Mostly.

****meep

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06