the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

2004-10-06..5:29 p.m.

I seem to have had a weird oral fixation all day. I�m STARVING! After a serious breakfast of grapefruit with two pieces of wholegrain wheaten sprout-y organic bread* breakfast smeared with honey, I�ve had half an old pizza (one of those Tesco one's, which I picked up about a week ago, but passed both odour and visual testing)(lLok at me not like that! If there's no mould it's fine!) with some spinach and a mushroom sliced over, and not one but TWO pieces of toast with honey AND a quarter grapefruit (saving the rest of that puppy as a very civilised evening aperitif) I�m also drinking loads of water. Strangely though, I�m not tired. i think leaving the office midday did it for me. We should really do as the Spaniards do and clock up some siesta points during office hours in this country.

*Sprouted Wheat Bread always makes me think of aging potatoes.

I think I�ve mentioned before that I�ve been in the unfortunate position of having to find a place to live for the past couple of weeks. I was SUPPOSED to move into a flat last weekend, but the terminating visa that caused the room to be vacated was, by a cruel twist of unkind Fate, extended. Thus the past week I have not only been working in the office full-time three days a week, evenings four times a week and attending seminars and lectures, but also trying to find a flat. And trying to fit in actually completing the readings so my attendance isn�t futile. And attempting to maintain some sort of contact with my family. And slotting in *ahem* quality time with M. It�s been no easy two weeks. Regardless, my gorgeously fabu current flatmates letting the girl taking my room move in TOMORROW, despite the fact she�s not supposed to move in until FRIDAY. Which means I need to be packed with my shit out of my room by tonight. Actually I have no right to be resentful or snarkie. As I have no place to actually move into tomorrow they�re letting me kip on the sofa, which is really kind of them, until Saturday morning when M and I will load up his car and shift it all to his new place.

Now none of that thank you. We�re NOT moving in together rather I am merely crashing at his until I find a place that will let me live in peace with cool people centrally located and at the most �80inc. So a couple of days then (ha. ha.) And I�m not going to �get used to it and wind up staying there� (as my friend Al so delicately put it), because he lives in Brockley. Know where Brockley is? No? Middle of Butt Fuck Nowhere South London is where Brockley is. As soon as I can get a place on the North side of the Thames, I�m outta there.

I don't have THAT MUCH more than I thought, but I do have quite a bit. In the end my entire material life in this country will amount to the contents of two suitcases, two duffel bags (v light due to linen/Personal Admin papers), two boxes of books, one box of books and CDs and a stolen Tesco's delivery crate of (a rather hygienic combo of) food and miscellaneous crap (I just wrote miscellaneous CARP and am now lamenting my carpless existence. Sigh.)

When I get home tonight (or rather when M gets home tonight) he�s going to give me a back rub. I went home at lunch for laundry purposes and ended up packing and generally faffing about scrutinising how efficiently I pack, looking at boxes and pondering the need of a Sharpie and accidentally ended up staying there for almost two and a half hours (..oops) which has made me all back ache-y.

Last thing, and then I go: started uni last week and it�s like I�m finally allowed to breathe again. My once-firm dependence on cigarettes is quavering slightly, such is the weight of dullardry being lifted. In any case, because of Club Shit-o-Rama this past week I�ve hardly had any time to put in proper reading hours and woke up yesterday morning humming the chorus line of Dora. Yes folks, it�s Freud: The Opera! Open seven nights a week, plus a matinee for the kiddies. I nearly died. I figure that because I�ve had no time to really think about things while I�m awake my sleeping self is trying to take over in that department. It�s help I don�t need, though I�m sure old Siggy would have had a field day with it.

K. I�m gone, night night!

****meep

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06