the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

2004-08-24..5:17 p.m.

I am a sneak of the highest genus. On the scale of Sneak I rank in the top 0.02%. When it comes to Sneaking, I�m Top Kitten. An Uber Sneak. The Wunder of the Sneak World. Why do I claim such accolades? Because unbeknownst to anyone but you, I have cut and then pasted, painstakingly adjusted the font, printed and bound the first six episodes of Ulysses, the James Joyce masterwork itself. The beautiful result being I have just saved myself a whole �6.99. If I can do this with all my readings I will officially reign supremo.

I awoke this morning happier than I can begin to say. I did not move from within the heavy embrace of M�s sleeping form once in the night. I am usually a wriggle monster; fruitless hours are spent tearing at the sheets, clamouring for air, shifting into and out of muscle spasms and intolerable knots pitted beneath the surface of my left calf. I think I generally fall asleep from the sheer exhaustion of trying to get comfortable. This morning I awoke in the exact position I fell asleep in. I dreamt of a hotel whose Muslim owners would not as a guest to vacate his room despite the insidiously racist comments he kept making for fear of reprisals. I�ve no idea how it ended because the next thing I know I was giving airplane rides and piggy-backs to a group of giggling six-year old Japanese kids in a slowly ebbing swimming pool. They were both dreams of bright colours and stabbing frustration, until my mind reeled back and spent a good long time sitting inside one of those floaty things parents (rather stupidly if you were to ask a former swimming instructor, which you didn�t, so never mind) shove their children�s arms through in a vain effort it will teach them how to float. It was clear plastic so I could see myself bobbing along in the centre of the pool, and had translucent amber goldfish decorating the sides. If I could bottle that peace, I�d not even bother in the obvious get-rich-quick scheme. That sort of peace should be a right not a privilege.

Last night I went out for dinner and had so many shiitake mushrooms I felt sick. So much blessed goodness is hard to take. This afternoon immediately after I finish, I�ll head to the sports caf� on Exmouth. It reminds me so very much of places like Tequila Bookworm in Toronto. I�m going home in not even two weeks, I need to start preparing for that sort of atmosphere.

****meep

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06