the catalogue:

current research
previous findings
bibliography
annotations

other branches:

erqsome

associates:

emmalene
fridayfilms

girlsdontcry

heelandlass

inkysoso
luvabeans
mitten
misspinkkate
onepinksock
schmutzie
smartypants
squeeky

outside associates:

accidental hedonist
bitter greens

dooce
fig and plum
fluid pudding
grumpiest girl
juju loves polka dots
knit, anne marie, knit
mighty girl
mortimers mom
one hot stove
parsley soup
postpunk kitchen
sarah jane
sarcastic journalist
super eggplant
vibe grrl
who were the bishops?

public interest:

Blog Flux Directory
Blogwise - blog directory

2004-02-14..7:10 p.m.

Look, there�s a McChicken Sandwich on the floor

What a waste
If I were a vegan I�d be really upset. (in mincing mockhorror) �Why, did they have to die? Why?�

(as overheard on the bus, at which point I fell off my seat)

Went to see the Broken Family Band this week!! I�d had it in the works to see them Thursday at the 100 Club ever since I heard they�d be playing there and did I go? Yes. Did I also take the day off work that day because needed to nurse chopping hangover-come-�food poisoning� (take it up with my publicist) from accidently mid-week boozing of the night before? Yes. Was I completely knackered? O baby, Yes. Was it a fantapalooza fantastic goodtime? A thousand times it was, it was. Even just listening to Broken Family masturbates the senses; but watching them live..Watching them live causes untold internal firecrackers, booming multi-spectrally until little frenzies erupt through out the audience and we�re all grinning like idiots, Thursday night being no exception.

Did you know Duke Ellington�s first name is (was) Edward? That snippet of information was not in my repertoire until the other night. Have been watching Angels in America, and though the dialogue is slightly stilting and it�s very obviously based on a play, it�s beautifully filmed and admirably performed. That�s were I came upon my Ellington factoid.

The other night I was in bed willing myself to tipple topple away from insomnia into dreamy dreamland and I got to thinking (...and started to wonder, had I been watching too much Sex and the City?) what would sleep look like manifested into tangible corporeality: a claymation tree with yellow spots on the leaves, like little yellow caterpillars. Sinking, purple, blobby. A giant feather filled pillow and pink bedsocks.

Rightright. You�re having adventures that I know nothing about. That�s an idea that makes me feel quite tiny and abstracted from the world, to think that somewhere across the world people are doing stuff, things are doing things, places are being got to, and I�m not seeing a bit of it.

Tonight I am going to the Betsy Trotswood where Blow-Up meets indie and I will dance the night away at beatnik speeds.

This entry hasn't half been all over the place.

May your weekend be the stuff of the Broken Family Band.

prev ~ next


hello and goodbye - 16.02.07
like lightning in the morning - 19.06.06
knob-end loser - 12.06.06
don't get the wine part I - 10.06.06
a blurb is a blurb is a blurb - 07.06.06